Crop Top Styling for the not so skinny girl


Crop Tops are a vintage fashion favorite. They fit in in equally with a 60s fashionista, an 80’s rock star and are relevant even today. Therefore one can safely invest in the trend because it is never going to go any where.

Popular perception, however is that crop tops are for skinny girls but I’ve figured a few hacks that can help with styling crop tops if you are not that skinny, love cake and biriyani more than a flat stomach, or are simply not genetically inclined to have one. None of the above reasons should stop one from indulging in one of the most comfy yet classic trends of all time. Since I dress to eat on most days most of my hacks will ensure that there is enough room for a brunch belly, which can be hidden.

Hack 1 – Choose the right fit and fabric

It is extremly important to understand your body and what you are comfortable in. Buying a natural fabric like cotton I feel works well overr a synthetic fabric, that often wrings or sticks to my body. There’s room to breathe, it is not figure hugging, yet falls well, mostly cotton gets my vote. Most Cotton Crop tops have a boxy fit, and while there is the tease of a stomach, you don’t have to be conscious about too much exposure.

You can also choose something with elastic, this also gives the top some drama, and takes the attention away from a not so flat stomach, because the elastic tends to give the impression similar to the empire waistline, which is very flattering. I learnt this from Juhi Chawla in Darr.

Hack 2 – Pair it with a Boxy Pleated Skirt

Most boxy pleated skirts are high-waisted because they need to rest on the smallest part of the waist, to give the pleats enough room to accentuate the hips. A crop top paired with a skirt like this either in contrast or a similar print is an elegant way to wear the crop top. This actually is my most favorite way to wear it, because I love boxy skirts pleated skirts with all my heart.

Hack 3 – Wear it with well worn jeans

A well worn jeans, with a bit of stretch, which has over a period of time, understood your body and therefore has already stretched to hide the bulges can carry a crop top with elan. Again figure the length of the crop top and how it falls in a manner thats comfortable. I like to have enough space for a brunch belly, so I prefer something a bit loose and that lies gingerly just where the belt begins

Hack 4 – Pair it with a Pencil skirt

Pencil skirts are my favorite, I find them extremly flattering and made entirely for Indian women a majority of who, have well endowed hips. Pairing a casual skirt with a crop top that’s not too fitting and not too baggy is a comfortable yet stylish way to wear a crop top. Also finding a crop top that’s a bit assymetrical will also add to the drama, but most importantly to the comfort.

Hope you enjoyed reading the hacks and you probably pull that crop top that is lying in your cupboard for when you lose those 5 kgs (hell, I know I had a bunch of them). Would love to hear your thoughts

One comment

  1. Though all these are a far away dream for a fatso like me, I did get an idea when you mentioned boxy and pleated skirts. I can now pair the crop tops with sleeveless dresses which I don’t prefer usually. You have always been my personal favourite when it comes to fashion. Do keep writing and pour us with more tips. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment