White Summer Essentials


White is the color for Summer. No color beats the heat like this one, and No one looked bad in White ever. While it is one of the most soothing colors, it is also the color that will invariably attract that splatter of gravy, or induce excited spilling of wine. But, none of this deters any of us from wearing White! I make a list of 6 Summer White essentials.

White Top

The essential White Top or White Shirt is a must. Find one that you like the fit of and it is a life saver when you don’t want to think about what to wear. Easily teemed with a skirt or a jeans you come across as well turned out with minimal effort.

Perfect for those days that you overslept or fell into the Insagram stories pit and were ridiculously late for a meeting or a lunch date.

I am wearing a peasant top, because I like to do other things with shirts as you will see next.

White Shirt Dress

I am a dress girl over a pants girl anyday. Therefore why opt just for a white shirt when you can wear a Shirt Dress.

The combination of comfort, no-nonsense, pockets and femininity all rolled into one work for me.

I may have to deal with the occassional – did you forget your pants comment, but I’ll live with it I guess.

White Slip Dress

The perfect brunch partner. Since I like to do justice to a weekend brunch, wearing something too fitting is only reserved for parties where I am not going to eat

A white slip dress is roomy enough for a boozy brunch and unlimited servings of carbs and dessert so it totally gets my vote for being a perfect brunch companion

A Resort Dress

A casual outfit to lounge around in, in white is a great addition to the wardrobe. Of course if you are into accessories you can team dresses with a lot more jewellery. But I always forget to carry stuff with me on holiday, so I got myself one that was dramatic by itself.

With Kimono sleeves, the dress also has a slit for easy movement and a holiday vibe. It is my current favorite. Available at summerhouse.in

White Shorts

White shorts are perfect because they go with anything. When the sun shines with all it’s might on a hot beach or a hot day, there’s no other color that will keep you as cool as White.

Cotton World is one of my favorite brands. They have a really comfortable fit and I feel the length is just right. Not too risque, comfortable enough to be worn to the beach or even to run an errand close to home.

White Saree

A white saree feels like you are wrapped in a fluffy cloud. And tell me who wouldn’t like that. I couldn’t make my Summer essential list without one.

I Like cottons for summer. The one that I am wearing is a delicate Dhakai Jamdani and it is very light. Teamed with a crop top it can be worn anywhere – a meeting, brunch or just to lounge around with friends

The tribute to white can of course be endless, but I have limited the list of casuals to Six. I would love to hear more about what makes it to your wardrobe essential, so please do leave your thoughts.

Leave a comment