Melbourne Dreaming On A Winter’s Day – #Bucket List


Not a day goes by, when I don’t dream of a holiday or some place I want to travel to. I secretly wish I was born at a different time, perhaps in the Victorian  age, when it was perfectly fine to be lady, who read all day, and traveled to different parts of the world. And when one traveled it was not a calculated holiday which was an output of income +  corporate leave.  Sigh!  Anyhow, this part of me is often on a parallel holiday most of the time, and platforms like Pinterest and information overload easily available only fuel these desires and open up a world of dreams for me.

One such destination on my list of daydreams is definitely Melbourne. It doesn’t get too cold, which is a big plus for me, in liking a place, or wanting to visit it.  Give me a warm place anyday over a freezing place. Even the prospect of fashionable coats and boots, will not make me choose a cold place. Apparently their winter low is 7degrees Centigrade, and Summers are at a toasty 25 degrees. Already sold on the weather. while the weather is considered unpredictable, I know I’m not going to freeze and will be able to enjoy indoors and outdoors depending on when I do visit.

Melbourne

On a holiday, I love doing my homework and planning my itinerary and therefore a city which has a lot of character and things to do excites me. My husband and I do, weeks of homework before we travel, figuring out what we like and what we’d like to do.

 

Eating at different places, and tucking in to memorable meals, is high on our list of priorities.I know that thanks to it’s multi cultural population, the options are many, and I have read that it is Australia’s Culinary Capital. On my list there is definitely George Colambari’s Gaza  – his Greek Restaurant, because I am vegetarian and I absolutely adore George on the show as well as his twitter profile, therefore homage is non-negotiable.  Attica, which is rated Australia’s best restaurant would be on the list for the experience and the food. The head Chef Ben Shewry apparently, sources produce from near his home on the Victorian coast to use in his cooking at Attica.  Yes, these meals turn out to be expensive, but the whole experience is always memorable.

So here is a video, that I have been watching about Attica, it’s lovely how Ben Shewry, explores the Victorian Region, and sources his produce. A meal at Attica is definitely on my list and would be on your’s too, if you saw this video!

The coffee in this city, is supposed to be very good too, and I believe that they are pretty snobbish about it, Big nod from the South Indian filter coffee drinker in me to that!

One of my favorite songs is Nancy Sinatra crooning the lines below

“Strawberries cherries and an angel’s kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things”

The fact is that this can be a reality in  gorgeous Melbourne while on holiday, is super exciting. I know It’s possible to do both there. How do I know??? Well, thanks to these videos

No Holiday is complete in my book, without a darshan of the seas. I am intrigued by how different the ocean is in different parts of the world and my husband and I, enjoy simply lazing at the beach with a book and a mat.

A collage of some of my favorite beaches

A collage of some of my favorite beaches – Colombo, Galle, Nice, South Padre Island,Krabi, Goa, Dubai and Maldives

We try and fit that in, on most holidays and Melbourne gives you the option of indulging in some of the best coastlines in the world. Brighton Beach is touted as one of the most colorful neighborhoods in the world. It looks like a candy shop on the beach. And that’s not all, penguins can be spotted at Phillips Island which is about 90 minutes from Melbourne. As the sun fades, apparently you can see them waddle out to the safety of their homes. This has to be the cutest sight one ever sees, whether they like animals or not! And of course The Great Ocean Road drive, understandably it is ranked highly on the best drives in the world and the thought of a fantastic road, a view to die for and the endless sea – an irresistible recipe in my book of holidays.

 

Bucket List Brighton!

Next on the Beach Bucket List – Brighton!

I am also thrilled by the prospect of entertainment and arts in a city that I visit. I love the surprises that Street Art brings, in every Nook and corner. Love it at home in Bandra, and I have some lovely memories of walking down East Village in New York and lanes of Paris where street art, stares unexpectedly at you in almost every corner. Hosier Lane, is touted to be the Street Art Capital of the World and therefore Melbourne is just turning out to be a meeting point of all my favorite things to do on a holiday 🙂

 

While I have been day dreaming about my holiday in Melbourne, I have only touched the tip of the apostle, I mean ice berg, check out this link for a lot more information https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL2r0ptqQ1wBCimcqdfsBCks1YVaFDczLh or the official website http://www.visitmelbourne.com/India.aspx which can help you plan your holiday.

Contest Details!

For all my readers there is a contest, winners will get some exciting goodies from Tourism Victoria. All you need to do is tell me, if you were to  Which of these places would you want to visit in Melbourne and why. 

Leave your answer in the comment section below. The contest closes on 29th December, 2014

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Melbourne Dreaming On A Winter’s Day – #Bucket List

  1. I would love to visit the Panny’s famous chocolate factory. That is because he is an Indian. Panny is actually Kodandpani Lakhmanan. He arrived in Melbourne via Malaysia and Papua New Guinea, where he had worked on cocoa and coconut plantations before immigrating Down Under. He is now legend in Australia. He has made we Indians proud. Besides his chocolates are mouthwatering.

    Like

  2. After watching all the videos, I like to visit ‘Sunny Ridge Strawberry Farm’.
    I’m fond of strawberries and I have a special liking towards farms cause I love the silence and the fresh air. The green scenery is also breathtaking. So I fall for that place.

    Like

  3. After watching the videos of Rohan and Tanmay enjoying Melbourne, I am really feeling jealous of them and I would definitely love to visit the lovely places which they visited at least once in lifetime. One place which I just don’t want to miss is “Queen Victoria Market” to fulfil my food cravings . Wow ! So many choices of food and such an amazing Ambience. Seriously! a lovely place to visit.

    Like

  4. Gaza would be number 1 because I’m a big George Calombaris fan.
    Yarra valley is next because of all the wine i’d get to sample
    MCG – a sportslovers paradise, with their sports museum… cant miss this one

    Like

  5. Wow! Melbourne is awesome! 🙂 You have presented its facets very well…
    I have been seeing the videos over and over, and I think that one of the places I’m very keen to go to is The Great Ocean Road with its stunning coastline, the sunsets and beautiful serene drive! Can’t wait to see it all for myself 🙂

    Like

  6. Amazing Article.
    If I get a chance to visit Melbourne then
    I would like to spend my time in the Great Otway National Park, because I love watching animals. I would love to take a city tour by travelling on the Tram’s of Melbourne. By travelling in tram’s I want to explore every nook & corner of Melbourne. Besides this I would love to watch the amazing architectures of Melbourne like Eureka Tower, Royal Exhibition Building, etc. And without enjoying festivals, my journey would be incomplete so I will celebrate Australian Festivals.
    And how can I forget The MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground). As cricket is my favourite sport I would love to watch the Cricket world cup final which will take place at the largest stadium of Australia, that is, MCG.

    – Manu
    Harstuff Travel – http://goo.gl/6t4oZy

    Like

  7. I would love to visit the open air art gallery, the street art of Melbourne. This is a place where Melbourne has gone global with artists around the World collaborating to produce rich street art.

    Like

  8. I would love to visit St. Kilda beach in Melbourne and also enjoy watching the Penguin parade there..The serene beauty of the beach coupled with watching the cute penguins in their natural surroundings is sure to make my visit a memorable one! Ofcourse I am going to carry a camera and click lots of pictures to capture all the happy moments there 🙂
    -Nikita @Njkinny’s World of Books & Stuff

    Like

Leave a Reply

