The one day Path to Food Coma – Food Trail


 

 

I have a confession to make. I think about food and what I am going to eat, what I ate, my best meal, my next meal a great deal. Perhaps a little more than, what would be considered normal. The root cause of a bad temper on most days would be hunger, so loved ones ensure that I have fodder in my stomach. One of those happy days when I was thinking of what my perfect, no stone left unturned “food day “would be like, I decided to pen down the food trail. Most Days I like to do 3 meals and 2 snacks, so my fantasy to my Day of Food Coma unfolds thusly

 

On Waking Up, I would start my day with a fruit. In my case this would have to be a Guava. This sweet and tarty fruit, definitely releases some happy vibe. It smells green, and tastes like a burst of freshness, no other fruit has the power to lift me up, as this does. (I have been wooed, with guava bouquets being sent to my office – I love them that much)

 

8.00 am –  Arya Bhavan, Matunga

If it’s time for breakfast, it has to be a Hot healthy South Indian Breakfast. I would start with a plate of Hot Fluffy Steamed Idlis. I would follow that up with a Mysore Masala Dosa with instructions to keep it soft and not crispy, because that’s how I like mine.  At Arya Bhavan do not forget to order the Podi on the side, its very authentic because they douse it with gingelly oil, and that raises the bar with the taste 100 fold. A plate of Kuzhi paniyarams for the table, so that you have something to pop as you wait for item after item to land at your table

Hot Fluffy Idlis

Hot Fluffy Idlis

I would wash that heavenly breakfast with a Piping Cup of Filter Coffee

 

Filter Kaapi!

Filter Kaapi!

 

11 am – Smoothie at Bird Song Cafe

 

11 am is Snack Time, and I would keep it very light, with a Smoothie. When Bird Song in Bandra has Bananas in Stock(Yes it is possible to run out of bananas when you run an Organic Cafe) they do the best smoothie in all of Bandra, only after Mocha Mojo’s very berry smoothie, but because they have shut down, I would go with Bird Song Cafe

 

Rich, Organic Banana Smoothie at Bird Song

Rich, Organic Banana Smoothie at Bird Song

 

Suzette for Lunch at 1.30 pm

For Lunch, I would eat a generously filled Crepe, My favorite is the Legume, which is a Buckwheat Crepe has fresh pesto, Pinenuts, Mozarella, mushroom and Zucchini.  A make your own salad with all the goodness of veggie and cheese  along with a boiled egg (I find this tradition, so similar to ordering biryani in Chennai, where your biriyani if from a decent place will be served with a boiled egg)

 

A mixed Vegetables Salad and the Legume Buckwheat Crepe at Suzette

A mixed Vegetables Salad and the Legume Buckwheat Crepe at Suzette

Dessert at Sweet Bengal

While I have never been a fan of Bengali food, perhaps because I have not eaten at the right places or eaten the right dishes, I could sell my soul to the devil in exchange for bengali sweets. The gurer rasgulla, Sandesh and Mishti Doi top my list for nirvana 🙂 and that’s what I would end my lunch with

 

Rasgullas

Rasgullas

 

Mishti Doi

Mishti Doi

 

4.30 pm Gujju Snacks at Trupti Snacks

If Bengali Sweets rule my heart for dessert, Gujju Snacks  is a toddler and me a  fawning mother. Yes, that’s unconditional love! I believe, they make the best fresh snacks. The delicately rolled Khandvi tempered with coconut, sesame and mustard seeds leave a lingering tingle begging for the next piece to be had. Best had with sweet chutney. The other favorite is the modified twist of the paneer dhokla. A dhokla with a fat chunk of paneer in the middle, smeared with green and imli chutney – paradise for someone who loves paneer (In fact my husband jokes that the best cake I can get is a slab of paneer!!!). Who would have thought that Colocasia leaves could be rolled in to  a yummy snack – The patra. The explosion of Sweet, Salt and Spice in all these dishes, make them more special to me than a Only Sweet, Only Salty or Only Fried Snack.

Patra

Patra

 

 

Khandvi

Khandvi

 

9.30 pm Dinner & Dessert at Sassy Spoon

There has been no meal in recent times that has stuck with me as much my last one at Sassy Spoon.  I found the menu to be refreshingly different with unexpected twists. On my wishlist would be the Brown Rice Paella, with broad beans, olives, grilled artichokes and smoked fennel. The ingredients spell such an explosion of flavors that are familiar yet surprising every time.

Brown Rice Paella

Brown Rice Paella

 

Dessert would undoubtedly be the Dark Chcolate Fondant with liquid white chocolate and a basil centre, along with basil and pinenut icecream. Yes! You read right  – basil! It easily tops my list of different, yet memorable desserts. Having a soft spot for basil, I was thrilled to find it on the dessert menu, and took a chance with it, and since then I’ve been craving it again. I hear they are opening up in Bandra and I cannot wait for that to happen.

Chocolate Fondant with Basil Centre and Basil & Pine Nut Ice Cream

Chocolate Fondant with Basil Centre and Basil & Pine Nut Ice Cream

 

 

This food trail would easily lead me to Food Comatose, I’m curious to know what your food trail would be. Do share with me your day of food fantasy 🙂

4 thoughts on “The one day Path to Food Coma – Food Trail

  1. Pingback: Tangy Tuesday Picks. Creative blog posts

Leave a Reply

